Everything Announced at the Very First Oculus Gaming Showcase

Oculus Gaming Showcase

Oculus held its first-ever Oculus Gaming Showcase in which it announced a wide range of brand-new VR games that will be hitting the Oculus platform soon. The Oculus VR platform is going from strength to strength at the moment, and the virtual reality leader was out in full force for the first-ever Oculus Gaming Showcase on April 21.

Oculus has announced exciting new games for its VR platform which includes the likes of Pistol Whip: Smoke and Thunder, new episodes of existing Star Wars VR title Tales from the Galaxy’s Edge, and a better look at most-wanted games like Lone Echo II and After the Fall.

Below is everything that was announced at the Oculus VR Gaming Showcase.

Pistol Whip: Smoke and Thunder

Pistol Whip is getting a wild west makeover with the Smoke and Thunder expansion. The expansion will allow you to experience life as a gunslinging cowboy, adding to the John Wick and Cyberpunk-themed levels that are currently available.

Pistol Whip is also getting another add-on called The Concierge which will give Pistol Whip players complete customization options for levels. Oculus has not revealed the release date for the expansion pack but it is expected to drop sometime this summer.

Resident Evil 4 VR

RE4 VR was announced recently and in the Oculus VR gaming showcase, there was a much better look at the VR gameplay of the game. Port developers Armature have made lots of adjustments to make Resident Evil 4 work in VR. Oculus said the following about the changes made to RE4 for VR.

Weapons and items have been re-engineered as physical objects you can pick up and interact with. You’ll also be able to switch weapons by grabbing them off your body instead of going into a menu, and you can wield separate weapons with each hand.

You’ll still move in first-person by using the analog stick, but Armature has added a full upper-body rig on top of Leon’s character to combine his movement with the dual-handed interactivity achieved with Touch controllers. They’ve even added support for teleportation and room-scale movement, so you can explore the environment however you choose.

Resident Evil 4 VR will be coming to the Quest 2 headsets only later in 2021.

Warhammer 40,000: Battle Sister Multiplayer Update

Warhammer 40,000 Battle Sister has received a multiplayer update that will allow you to play with a friend and shred through the horde mode together on two brand new maps. The game, however, is only currently available on Quest devices. It will be arriving on Rift devices soon.

Long Echo II

Long Echo II has finally been announced to launch in the Summer this year. Lone Echo II then is one of the most eagerly anticipated of all Oculus titles in development. The original Lone Echo remains one the absolute best virtual reality experiences so we can only hope that the sequel lives up to the expectations.

Star Wars: Tales From the Galaxy’s Edge Part 2

Star Wars: Tales From the Galaxy’s Edge is coming back for part 2 and the upcoming Star Wars VR adventure introduces players to Dok-Ondar, one of those mysterious hammerhead-looking aliens that always seem to be knocking around the cantinas of Tatooine. Currently, there is no word on when the game will be released.

I Expect You To Die 2

I Expect You To Die is getting a sequel and the game is a VR puzzle game which lets you play as a elite super spy as you contend with deadly traps and faulty gadgets. There’s no official release date yet, but I Expect You To Die 2 is set to release sometime later this year on both Rift and Quest devices.

Carve Snowboarding

Carve Snowboarding brings to life, an N64 classic known as 1080 Snowboarding. 1080 Snowboarding on the Nintendo 64 was a much-loved extreme sports title from the early days of 3D gaming. Chuhai Labs is the development team behind the game.

After the Fall

After the Fall will pit you and up to three other players against scores of icy undead monsters in a snow-covered post-apocalyptic LA. The game will be coming to Rift and Quest this Summer.

Wraith: The Oblivion – Afterlife

Wraith: The Oblivion – Afterlife is a horror game in which you will be exploring the Barclay mansion. Trapped between life and death, you’ll play as Ed Miller as he tries to uncover the truth behind his untimely death, using new-found spectral abilities.

This VR adventure will release on Quest and Rift platforms on April 22, 2021.

The Climb 2

The Climb 2 is getting its first expansion pack tomorrow called ‘Freestyle Expansion’. It consists of six new levels with both casual and professional difficulty levels.

The Walking Dead: Saints and Sinners

The Walking Dead: Saints and Sinners is getting the Aftershocks update, with the creeps from The Reserve looking to steal your supplies and turn human-against-human in the zombie-filled world.

Full Event

If you want to see the full Oculus Gaming Showcase, we have linked it below for you:

Which announcement or game reveal is your favorite from the very first Oculus Gaming Showcase? Let us know in the comments section below.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Talal Waseem

Talal Waseem is an avid gamer and a hardware content contributor at GamesHedge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *